Unemployed and actively seeking work?

I think I’ll have to first speak to Jobseekers Direct on a hypothetical basis, telling them that I am thinking about going back to university in October and find out if and when I would have to sign off. They will presumably make a note of my enquiry on the system (or at least they ought to).

Based on what they advise me, I will then approach either the Job Centre Plus personal adviser or the consultant at Employer Engagement on a hypothetical or actual basis.

I hope this isn’t dishonest – obviously I would value a second opinion. Should I take this hypothetical approach or just be upfront about it?

(I know that I will have to sign off my claim at the end of September. The issue is whether I can still continue claiming between now and then if I continue to apply for jobs and go for interviews and be prepared to take up any work before the end of September, with a view to leaving the job when the course starts.)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Unemployed and actively seeking work?”

  1. Flexible New Deal Says:

    Might be of interest to you, New Deal Scandal has published the Multi-programme New Deal Contracts online @ http://www.newdealcontracts.co.uk/MultiProgramme/

    Feel free to register on the site to leave comments specifying whether you think your local provider has breached such contract in whole or part.

Leave a Reply

