Going through the motions

Since accepting an offer to do a PhD this autumn, my relationship with job hunting has changed. No longer am I motivated to invest all my time in this relationship with a view to getting something out of it. And yet, it is difficult to let go of the guilt associated with not job hunting after ten months or so of committment. Any attention I go give to this relationshup is simply going through the motions, that it is something I ought to be doing without really knowing why.  This isn’t helped by continuing to claim Job Seekers Allowance until the start of the PhD. I have to show the government that I am looking for work when in a couple of months I know I will be signing off anyway.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

