Something for Jobseeking professionals

Those of you you have visited this site before will know that I have had major issues with Job Centre Plus, namely that they do not serve jobseekers from professional or middle class backgrounds. Well, in the space of the last two weeks, I have discovered four different initiatives that are aimed at white collar workers.

Employer Engagement are running New Deal for Graduates (or New Deal for Professionals and Management, as my personal adviser at the job centre called it). It’s only available after you have been claiming Job Seekers Allowance for six months and have completed the two week New Deal Gateway course. It’s a combination of job hunting skills and a 13 week work placement from which there is a 60-80% chance of job.

I picked up a leaflet at my local job centre for a programme run by GR Law for lawyers and legal staff, finance staff, professional services support staff, job seekers looking for work internationally and/or salary earners of £25K to £300K. It’s not advertised on the GR Law website, so I assume it’s by referral by Job Centre Plus.

I also picked up a leaflet in my local job centre for Response to Redundancy. A google search reveals quite a few entries so I think it is a larger project. Also, you can contact them directly without referral from Job Centre Plus.

Finally, there some useful online career tools available from Careerplan4me (yes, I know catchy URL). I clicked on a banner advert and was taken to a website, where I requested details online. I then received a letter to be shown to my Jobcentre adviser, who would then fill in a form and register you so that you can access for free. I have not proceeded with this service, so I don’t know what tools are available.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Something for Jobseeking professionals”

  1. Dave Salmon Says:

    I have tried using the CareerPlan4me website and have found it to be a complete and utter waste of time, with a poorly designed layout and no apparent structure to lead you through the numerous random sections.

    When you return to the site there is no indication of where you reached on your previous visit, and even when you do complete a section there is nothing to indicate the fact unless you go through the section again and see your answers.

    Clearly this is another ‘careers’ initiative dreamt up by a clueless Civil Servant who probably hasn’t ever logged in and tried to use it, and quite how they claim that Skype is a networking tool is totally beyond me!

    Fortunately I have now obtained a part-time job, with no help from Job Centre Plus (what exactly does the Plus mean?), so I don’t need to waste my time with this dross called CareerPlan4me, but no doubt many people are making lots of money from it and are claiming to be help the professional unemployed to get back to work!

  2. unemployedrabbit Says:

    As a graduate currently on the new deal course I have to say that thus far it has been anything but useful, in fact there are people on this course with me who are there for the second and third time- they keep getting sent to ‘learn’ the same things. I have not yet progressed to the work experience course, but in truth the majority of it feels like I’m simply being pushed from pillar to post by the unhelpful dole, because whilst on these courses and placements (which are mandatory) I am not counted as ‘unemployed’, thus improving unemployment statistics in the short term. I don’t mean to sound grumpy and negative but…well..I am at present. lol

Leave a Reply

